Level with me here, why do we need em? (levels that is)

General questions, debates, and rants about RPGs

Moderator: Moderators

Caid
NPC

Level with me here, why do we need em? (levels that is)

Post by Caid »

Having recently bought Shadowrun 4, found that I really liked the level and class less system. I have now been considering what it would take to combine the core DnD 3.5E task resolution mechanic with a class and level-less advancement scheme.

In short, abilities scores, BAB, saves etc would be bought for XP with increasing cost per point and skills, spells, special abilities etc would be bought similarly under the constraint of prerequisites. My approach would be to basically take level 1-5 from the classes I like, extract the special abilities and class features, and then try to assign XP costs based on how much XP it takes to reach that particular level.

I'm not a game designer by trade, so I felt I need some help finding the weaknesses and problems of such an approach. Specifically, somebody must have attempted similar things before, what happened and why did it loose out to the level based systems that are typical in DnD and D20?
Last edited by Caid on Tue Jun 01, 2010 12:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
hogarth
Prince

Re: Level with me here, why do we need em? (levels that is)

Post by hogarth »

Caid wrote:Having recently bought Shadowrun 4, found that I really liked the level and class less system. I have now been considering what it would take to combine the core DnD 3.5E task resolution mechanic with a class and level-less advancement scheme.