Lago's Kickass D&D-Book Marketing Strategy!

General questions, debates, and rants about RPGs

Moderator: Moderators

Lago PARANOIA
Invincible Overlord

Lago's Kickass D&D-Book Marketing Strategy!

Post by Lago PARANOIA »

I'm no marketing expert. So these are my ultimately amateur opinion on how to sell RPG books.

I'm not going to go into the rules or quality of writing. I'm here to tell you how to polish a turd--I strongly believe that 4th Edition, even with its rules problems, could have sold more of their books if the presentation and scheduling was better.

1) Campaign settings should be the first books released, after the core book. I know people who wanted to play 4E. They also wanted to play Eberron. So in the year between when the new edition came out and the EPG/ECS got released, do you think that the people interested in that game just sat on their hands for a year? No. They either continued playing 3rd Edition or played 4th Edition with another campaign setting. So when the books actually came out, people settled into their old routine or lost interest.

So for 5th Edition, in the first two months they should immediately release books for campaign settings for their money-maker settings (Forgotten Realms, Dragonlance, Rokugan), they should re-release a campaign setting that has fond memories in the fanbase but hasn't been supported for awhile (Dark Sun or Ravenloft or even Spelljammer), and they should also release a new campaign setting altogether to show that Things Will Be Different Now.

2) Pay money out the ass for artwork. I really don't know why WotC is so reluctant to do this for their books. When I crack open, say, Martial Power and see a bunch of white space at the bottom of some bullshit backstory paragon path it just feels empty and unappealing to look at.

Every page should have at least one picture on it. I know art is expensive, but it's the first thing that catches peoples' eyes when they look at your book.