[SR 4] Is Bloodsucking Only For Suckers?

General questions, debates, and rants about RPGs

Moderator: Moderators

Captain_Karzak
Journeyman

[SR 4] Is Bloodsucking Only For Suckers?

Post by Captain_Karzak »

I was flipping through the Runner's Companion (~p.79)when I saw there are three types of Vampires that you can use to make a PC.

I'd really like to play a Vampire character (in a game system that doesn't suck a barrel of cocks), so I was wondering if you guys to comment on the viability of these Infected Metatypes as a PC:

(1) Banshee 65 BP + 30 BP (for elf)
(2) Vampire 100 BP
(3) Nosferatu 150 BP

My gut instinct is that it won't work out in my favor at all, but I'm totally new to the system so that's not worth much. Please help by telling me why they are, or are not, good.

For context: I'm trying to make my first ever SR-4 character pretty soon using 450 build points. And I'd like to be a mage focusing on healing/buffing/illusion. Any synergy here?
Korwin
Duke

Post by Korwin »

In my opinion, the wendingo and goblin (ignore the flavor text) are slightly more playable.
Since you are starting with 450 BP, the concept is more viable than with 400 BP, don't know if its enough.
If you try the goblin start as gnome.

Banshee sucks the dick of the Vampire, not worth it.
Nosferatu is too expensive.
Vampire with 450'GP might be viable.

Try to use Franks End of the Matrix "other houserules".
Archmage
Knight-Baron

Post by Archmage »

It all depends on how much your GM is going to go out of their way to screw you over for needing to feed on human blood.