Dominions 3: Noob tips?

Stories about games that you run and/or have played in.

Moderator: Moderators

DSMatticus
King

Dominions 3: Noob tips?

Post by DSMatticus »

So, with all the talk around here about Dominions 3, I'd decided I'd go out and buy it. I'd like to start off by saying I am absolutely horrible at these games. I'm one of those 'sandbox empire builder' players, who will sit around and tediously micromanage until I have a pretty empire and pretty armies and etc, etc. Standard, uniform armies and cities/planets/provinces/whatever-the-game-in-question calls it. Bad habit, but I usually play SP and AI's always suck, so completely unoptimal play isn't punished.

So, one, I'm looking to break that habit, if anybody's got any tips on that.

And two, I'm new to the Dominions series and it obviously has a learning curve that is more aptly described as a learning wall that you run into headfirst repeatedly until you have a crack you can see through. I've done some playing and reading to get the general concepts of the game, but I don't have anything resembling a play strategy. I'm not even sure what the most important things to be doing are, and I certainly don't know what order to do them in. So, what's a good age/nation to grab for a n00b like me, and what would a rough not-suck-ass play strategy look like for them? Just to have something concrete in my hands, so I can look at it and say, "oh, I see why that works."

My best run so far has been with MA Abysia. Heavy infantry standing in front of artillery mages delivering evocation booms. Well, actually, my best run was with LA Ermor, but let's forget that one, because they apparently get thousands of undead for free and the AI had no counter to that.
tenuki
Master

Post by tenuki »

Some early insights from a fellow noob; more experienced players please correct the bigger errors and omissions this will probably contain.