[SPLINTER] One Game, Two Worlds, Two Separate Core Mechanics

The homebrew forum

Moderator: Moderators

Neurosis
Duke

[SPLINTER] One Game, Two Worlds, Two Separate Core Mechanics

Post by Neurosis »

Hi. Splinter is an indie RPG that I've been developing more-or-less all by my lonesome since 2008. I'm not going to post the whole entire game here in one giant chunk and say "what do you think, sirs?" because by observation, that's not how the Den works. So I think a focused discussion of one aspect of the game (or at least an attempt at that) would be better way to start.

It's more than a little intimidating posting my homebrew game at a place that frequently has threads like "Anatomy Of Failed Design: Relatively Popular And Successful RPG", but I feel like it would be foolish of me not to avail myself of the expertise here since in between the vitriol, there is a fuck ton of expertise here.

Here is the basic fluff which is like everything a WIP, albeit only narrowly. I know it's a bit..."bombastic" and very pitchy. And that's intentional. The fluff stuff is not actually what I'm looking for critique on here, and neither's the overall concept. That stuff is just necessary to get to the mechanics stuff.
The year is 2471 and Games Corp controls the world.

The massive international mega-conglomerate, along with their (secretly wholly-owned) governmentally assigned monitoring organization, the Entertainment Broadcasting Consortium (EBC) control all of humanity. Nations, boundaries, and governments are a thing of the past, an obsolete irrelevancy.

All that matters is the Game.

The Game is what holds the world’s disparate cultures together as one people. The Game captivates them, binds them, rules every aspect of their lives.

The Game is, simply put, everything. The Game combines every nation’s penal system, professional sports leagues, and media entertainment into one tremendous chimera of an organization, part ruling body, part cultural phenomenon.