Unrelated rant about your game's theme

General questions, debates, and rants about RPGs

Moderator: Moderators

Lago_AM3P
Duke

Unrelated rant about your game's theme

Post by Lago_AM3P »

I know people get feelings of joy when they go into ridiculous amounts of details for their setting, but seriously.

If you can't, to a new player, describe your setting in one page to the point where a complete newbie (albeit one with common sense) can make it around, you seriously need to rethink things.

Think of it like Final Fantasy X and the new players are Tidus. They're not stupid and they're not completely ignorant of constants like human nature, friendship, authority, monsters, and environmental danger. However, you could pretty much explain the state of things in one paragraph.

Civilization was and is currently being destroyed by a monster named Sin as punishment for using technology and letting cities get too big--right now the world (mostly) resembles a pre-industrial age version of Bizarro coastal Southeast Asia with a mentality to match. What's left of humanity live in rustic villages and their lives are dictated by a religious association called Yevon, who also unites the other forehead alien races of Guado and Ronso. Under the guidance of Yevon, people with the power to peacefully send away the spirits of the dead also call upon powerful undead spirits are known as summoners. These summoners travel with strong people known as guardians in one day gaining enough power to summon a creature that can defeat Sin. There's also a group of people we hate known as Al Bhed who we are pretty sure are pissing off Sin unnecessarily by using advanced technology. By the way, I hope you like Blitzball. A lot.

That way, it doesn't scare people new to the game who want to make complicated, intricate characters who also don't want to contradict the setting.