d20 Modern Dialogue

General questions, debates, and rants about RPGs

Moderator: Moderators

Save_versus_Stupid
Apprentice

d20 Modern Dialogue

Post by Save_versus_Stupid »

I just started playing in a campaign, so I would like to get overall opinions of modern.

I'm personally playing a fast hero, and from what I gather this character type is a little bit over the power curve the other classes bring. It looks like it's essentially a rogue, but with jacked defense and is also skilled while maintining 3/4ths BaB. I see it as a class that has a lot going for it over the "dumb" character types and the "smart" ones that are lacking a bit in combat ability.

But beyond that, any impressions?
Lago_AM3P
Duke

Re: d20 Modern Dialogue

Post by Lago_AM3P »

d20 modern is an amazingly shitty system. I'm finding bugs in this all of the time.

For example, lethal attacks dominate the first part of the game and then all of a sudden they become irrevelant. People can make the fortitude save against sudden death with some regularity (thankfully, this game doesn't use the 'autofail a save on a 1' retardedness) and at that point you want to switch to subdual attacks. Really stupid.

Also, there are a lot of dumb advanced classes. I mean a lot of them. You really want to get as many books together as possible; 90% of them are completely unplayable. However, a couple slip through the cracks and there are some genuinely good ones like Holy Knight and Field Officer.

There's errata on the wizards' site but you want to avoid it. All it ever does is nerf underpowered character concepts. For example, the errata doesn't allow you to combine brawl and combat martial arts. What the hell, man...?