Modrons

General questions, debates, and rants about RPGs

Moderator: Moderators

Catharz
Knight-Baron

Modrons

Post by Catharz »

The latest Dragon has a treatment of modrons, and while it's better than I'd expect from WotC, it's still got some problems.

So, is the Frank & K team doing a treatment of modrons in the Tome of Gears, or am I going to have to give these dice on legs a writeup myself?
Brobdingnagian
Knight

Re: Modrons

Post by Brobdingnagian »

I started playing in 3.5. What's a modron?
Catharz
Knight-Baron

Post by Catharz »

Brobdingnagian at [unixtime wrote:1176873030[/unixtime]]I started playing in 3.5. What's a modron?

Biomechanical robots shaped like dice (or other things...):

Endovior
Knight-Baron

Post by Endovior »

Wikipedia has this to say...

Wikipedia wrote:In the Dungeons & Dragons fantasy role-playing game, modrons are constructs native to Mechanus, the Lawful neutral aligned Outer Plane. Modrons are living creatures that resemble geometric shapes with humanoid limbs. They represent a living, physical manifestation of law without regard to good or evil, much as devils are a manifestation of law mixed with evil and archons are of law mixed with good.

Basically, they're beings of law that conveniently resemble the polyhedral dice you're using anyways, thus saving you money on miniatures. They've been pruned from recent editions, but have been statted out in the Web Enhancement to Manual of the Planes.
FrankTrollman wrote:We had a history and maps and fucking civilization, and there were countries and cities and kingdoms. But then the spell plague came and fucked up the landscape and now there are mountains where there didn't used to be and dragons with boobs and no one has the slightest idea of what's going on. And now there are like monsters everywhere and shit.
Digestor
Journeyman

Post by Digestor »

I love the concept of the modrons, and their horribly cute visage (despite weighing about 4 times what I do)