Characters your mister cavern never approved of

General questions, debates, and rants about RPGs

Moderator: Moderators

OgreBattle
King

Characters your mister cavern never approved of

Post by OgreBattle »

The very first time I played D&D3e I wanted to play as a Shield Guardian who protected a child sorcerer. The idea was rejected as I would be controlling two characters, and the rules for advancing constructs weren't really there (also i had the vague feeling that "man, for being a guardian robot this thing seems to have weak defenses... but it's cool!)

After that I just rolled up an Elf Ranger with Whirlwind attack ("Wow it sounds cool! But.. it seems kind of weak, maybe that's just 'cause I'm new to the game...") that never really accomplished anything because the lvl 12 Wizard could handle everything by himself.

What are some characters you wanted to play but got rejected?
RadiantPhoenix
Prince

Post by RadiantPhoenix »

I once had a DM not let me play a human because I was, "obviously up to something", or something like that...

One DM freaked out when I said my first level DFA could breathe fire, but eventually he okayed it.
name_here
Prince

Post by name_here »

The guy who intermittently DMs for me has the rule that we can't use anything from a book he doesn't own, mostly because he has rather high opinion of our ability to dumpster-dive something ridiculous.
DSMatticus wrote:It's not just that everything you say is stupid, but that they are Gordian knots of stupid that leave me completely bewildered as to where to even begin. After hearing you speak Alexander the Great would stab you and triumphantly declare the puzzle solved.
Antariuk
Knight

Post by Antariuk »